The Student Room Group

What to put on a CV as a teenager?

Hey guys I am 17 and just finished my AS levels and I am planning on getting a part-time job to save up for university. But I am wondering what to put on my CV, I know I should put education and qualifications down. However as I have not had a job previously I have no experience and am unaware of what else to put.

If someone has some guidance/advice of what to put on it, I would appreciate it very much.

Reply 1
Hey—well done on completing your AS levels. :smile:

How about including skills, and any volunteering you've done? (If you haven't really volunteered before, maybe you could look into it. There are so many places in need of volunteers, and you could even apply some of your interests. I had some fun helping out at the cathedral, and learned a lot about its history!)

A list of skills might not be a bad idea if you know what to include. When my team at work were recruiting my successor recently, they were keen to see Adobe InDesign mentioned on the CVs as it's a huge part of the job.

Good luck! :yy:
Reply 2
Original post by Skyf4ll
Hey—well done on completing your AS levels. :smile:

How about including skills, and any volunteering you've done? (If you haven't really volunteered before, maybe you could look into it. There are so many places in need of volunteers, and you could even apply some of your interests. I had some fun helping out at the cathedral, and learned a lot about its history!)

A list of skills might not be a bad idea if you know what to include. When my team at work were recruiting my successor recently, they were keen to see Adobe InDesign mentioned on the CVs as it's a huge part of the job.

Good luck! :yy:

I started volunteering this week, would I still be ok to put it? And with the skills should I include times I have needed it, such as teamwork in an orchestra?
Reply 3
Original post by ozzie2