The Student Room Group

Hours for your part-time summer job?

I'm 17 years old and have recently got a part time summer job. Just wondering how much other people earn, say on average over the summer? I know most are only minimum wage, but I just wanted to compare hours. The hours in my job vary from 10-20 each week.
I work avg. 20hrs a week (Thursday to sunday 6pm to 11pm) for £6.50 per hour, goods thing is its cash in handand easy money i need for uni!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by Drmischief
I work avg. 20hrs a week (Thursday to sunday 6pm to 11pm) for £6.50 per hour, goods thing is its cash in handand easy money i need for uni!

Posted from TSR Mobile

How did you find a summer job? Sorry I'm new to this jobs and all
Good website to find part time vacancies anyone?
Indeed is a great place. Funnily I work as little as I can, the novelty of earning has worn off and I do very little with the money so it feels like a waste of time.

Posted from TSR Mobile
I'm on about 17.5 hours a week earning £5.13.

Indeed is a great place to look as you can search it in a Google-like way (e.g. Part-time Glasgow) and it gives you a really good coverage.

If there's a specific place you want to look youre better looking on their own recruitment site. For example, WHSmith don't advertise on Indeed until a few days after its posted on their own careers site. Some cinemas are notorious for posting on Indeed a few hours after their ad is posted then taking down the vacancies shortly afte in short, just keep your eyes peeled.
Reply 6
Original post by fattortoise
I'm 17 years old and have recently got a part time summer job. Just wondering how much other people earn, say on average over the summer? I know most are only minimum wage, but I just wanted to compare hours. The hours in my job vary from 10-20 each week.

Back when I was a student and working over the summer holidays I was doing full time ~40 hour weeks. Occasionally with double shifts and overnight.