The Student Room Group

Quick help with this Math problem.

I'm not very good at maths, so can I have some help with this math problem?

You work part time in a restaurant and earn £30 per week plus a quarter of the tips. The tips for this week are£17, £21, £34, £12, £56, £48 and £46.How much, in total, will you earn?

I don't even know what this kind of problem is? Ratio, addition, I'm clueless.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
And after that one, could someone help me with another one?

Shona works as a cleaner. The floor cleaner she uses needs to be diluted with water in a ratio of 1:6. If she uses 200 ml cleaner, how much water does she need?
Reply 2
There's also this problem too:

A £1,000,000 lottery win is shared between two people in the ratio 2:3. How much does each person get?
Original post by The Arrow

You work part time in a restaurant and earn £30 per week plus a quarter of the tips. The tips for this week are£17, £21, £34, £12, £56, £48 and £46.How much, in total, will you earn?

I'm terrible at maths but I think overall with the £30 and tips, it's £88.50

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by Mike.Ross
Add all the £tips.
You earn: 1/4 of total tips + £30.

Spoiler

Original post by hermaphroditecat
I'm terrible at maths but I think overall with the £30 and tips, it's £88.50

Posted from TSR Mobile

Thanks. I thought it was £230. I'm a bit worried about my math capabilities right now. Any tips on how I could improve?
And after that one, could someone help me with another one?

Shona works as a cleaner. The floor cleaner she uses needs to be diluted with water in a ratio of 1:6. If she uses 200 ml cleaner, how much water does she need?

I would do 200 x 6 which would make 200:1200

Posted from TSR Mobile

You get on quarter of the tips, so you get: 17/4 + 21/4 + 34/4 + 12/4 + 56/4 48/4 + 46/4. Added to that you get your 30.

So in total that is £58.50 + £30 = £88.50