The Student Room Group

Any advice for a someone seeking their first job?

Hello!

I am new to this forum, but most importantly I am new to the world of job seeking. It is safe to say that I am currently a fish out of water.

I have delayed getting a job due to being on holiday, but now that I am back, I am serious about finding one. What I am planning to do is find a place where I can print my CV (maybe the local library?) and then visit a few shops.

I had previously emailed Waterstones to express my interest in working in a few of their stores (even though no vacancy was currently available) and they replied that they chose not to pursue it. With the very clear content of my email, that made it seem like they didn't read it all. I also enclosed my CV on that occassion.

I would ideally like to work in a place like Next, Waterstones, Marks and Spencers and Debenhams. I appreciate though that especially in my case, beggars can't be choosers.

If possible, could someone please give me some advice on the things I need to have with me and what I need to think about. Also, if anyone works in one of those businesses or have done, I would like to know how you find/found it,

Any advice will do for me. If you have any further questions just ask!

Thank you very much!
(edited 8 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Bear in mind that many large organisations will have their own application processes, often involving filling in a specific application form (nowadays, often online). So, before you print out loads of CVs, check whether that's what they actually want. A couple of minutes googling suggests that most of the retailers you've listed have online application systems, so it's very unlikely that sending/taking them a CV will get you anywhere - they literally won't look at it. Applying within the process they use is really important. Check their websites and you can start applying (if they have vacancies) right now! Good luck!
Reply 2