The Student Room Group

Can someone give me an insight of the great culture of the Middle East & South Asia?

Hi! I'm a uni student but also a creative writer. What i'm really interested in is the culture, imagery and life of the middle east and south Asia. This obviously includes Egypt, Tunisia, Lebanon, India, UAE, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Persia/Iran etc.
If you have origins/family background in any of these places or somewhere else in these regions, I would love to hear from you and your experiences.

Thanks!!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
I don't have any origins in the Middle East or South Asia, and the only countries I've been to in these regions are Tunisia, Turkey, Jordan, UAE and Sri Lanka. But I do have 2 books in mind that I can strongly recommend if you want to learn more about Middle Eastern culture and history.

Arabian Sands (by Wilfred Thesiger) - is about the author's travels through the deserts of the Arabian Peninsula in the 1940s, and captures the Bedouin lifestyle in a fascinating way.

The Road to Oxiana (by Robert Byron) - is about the author's travels through Palestine, Syria, Iraq, Persia and Afghanistan in 1933 and 1934. His journey ended in Peshawar, India (now part of Pakistan).
Pakistani background. What would you like to know?
Reply 3
Original post by Vindobona
I don't have any origins in the Middle East or South Asia, and the only countries I've been to in these regions are Tunisia, Turkey, Jordan, UAE and Sri Lanka. But I do have 2 books in mind that I can strongly recommend if you want to learn more about Middle Eastern culture and history.

Arabian Sands (by Wilfred Thesiger) - is about the author's travels through the deserts of the Arabian Peninsula in the 1940s, and captures the Bedouin lifestyle in a fascinating way.

The Road to Oxiana (by Robert Byron) - is about the author's travels through Palestine, Syria, Iraq, Persia and Afghanistan in 1933 and 1934. His journey ended in Peshawar, India (now part of Pakistan).