The Student Room Group

???
(edited 6 years ago)
Wear a long sleeve shirt to the interview and you will be fine.
(edited 6 years ago)
I'm a student nurse so might be able to help. Personally I haven't seen doctors with tattoos but probably as they are older on the wards I've had placement on.
The policy regarding tattoos is probably similar to that for nursing in that as long as it won't offend patients or is not inappropriate then you should be okay :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Pretty much what Sophie has said. As med students we are advised if we don't have visible tattoos not to get them, and if we do to cover them if possible. People with small tattoos are asked to put plasters over them. On clinical placements you have to have your forearms bare (for hygiene reasons), but you may be asked to cover it as much as possible i.e. sleeves down to/roll sleeves up to just below the elbow. Personally I don't think it's usually a problem, but nhs policy states that for older patients tattoos can be "unsettling and distracting", as we see a lot of elderly patients as med students you could wear a cardigan and roll up the sleeves (as most of us do anyway) so it is just covered in those situations. In practice, most doctors wear full sleeves anyway.
(edited 6 years ago)
Personally I don't think it looks very professional. Many of your patients will be older and conservative - what would your granny think? Or if your gran is quite liberal, what would a "typical" grandmother think?

Nurses, ODPs, etc can get away with visible tattoos and piercings, but you're going to be a doctor-in-training. The public has certain expectations so you need to look the part.

It's more difficult since you already have it, but as others have said, I guess try to cover it as much as possible for the time being. Once you're in med school, that's the biggest hurdle passed, but you might still get comments from some senior staff.
(edited 8 years ago)