The Student Room Group

Unconditional offers?

From Scottish higher results what would be the typical grades required to get an unconditional offer (in my case I want to apply for history)? Will just getting the required grades be enough or do you need straight a's? (Also sorry if this is in the wrong place I'm very new at this):smile:
Only some universities participate in giving out unconditional offers before a candidate gets their results.

They only do it to secure top students who otherwise may go somewhere else. I got 2 unconditional offers before getting my A2 results from Keele and Birmingham, however, I also know that Lancaster and De Mon fort have similar schemes.

Therefore, check to see if the university has a scheme set up :smile:

Good luck

http://www.birmingham.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/unconditional-offer-scheme-2015.aspx
Unconditional offers are not at all as rare as they used to be and many universities have been giving them out to A level students this year. OP is Scottish, however, and the education system there is different to one based on A levels. Unconditionals are a regular feature of the landscape there.

@__amy OP, you might want to post in the Scottish qualifications forum for advice from those used to the system. I can't claim to be, I'm afraid.
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 3
Original post by Yellow636
Only some universities participate in giving out unconditional offers before a candidate gets their results.

They only do it to secure top students who otherwise may go somewhere else. I got 2 unconditional offers before getting my A2 results from Keele and Birmingham, however, I also know that Lancaster and De Mon fort have similar schemes.

Therefore, check to see if the university has a scheme set up :smile:

Good luck

http://www.birmingham.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/unconditional-offer-scheme-2015.aspx