The Student Room Group

Lying on UCAS?

Hey guys,

First and foremost, this is a situation that I don't agree with completely on an ethical level. Despite this though, I am looking for honest, realistic replies of your viewpoint on the matter.

I'm an aspiring dental student - one of many. I received relatively decent GCSEs: 6 A*s, 5 As. However, my AS results were dreadful this summer: DDEE

I decided to move college for a fresh start. They said I'd have to redo year 12. This presents a problem as most dental schools disallow candidates to complete A levels over a period of more than 2 years. I would be doing them over 3 years.

There were extenuating circumstances, and the head of 6th at the new college said that I could lie on my UCAS personal statement by saying that due to these circumstances, I didn't complete my first time doing year 12 (even though I did), thus making it seem as if I'd only sat my A levels over a 2 year period.

Their claim was that universities won't check to see qualifications from my previous college as I would be applying through the new college, with new AS and A2 grades under the new 2015 spec, and due to the fact that realistically, universities don't have time to background check everyone.

I understand that this is ethically wrong, however the head of 6th suggested I do this and I was wondering if I should follow them up on their advice?

Thanks for reading!
(edited 8 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

I'd do it if I were you. Students at public schools get considerable advantages to those at state schools, so it's not as if you're cheating in a fair race. The race is already rigged, and the chances are probably already against you.

I wouldn't say it's ethically wrong, but that's just me.
Original post by Jenaid
Hey guys,

First and foremost, this is a situation that I don't agree with completely on an ethical level. Despite this though, I am looking for honest, realistic replies of your viewpoint on the matter.