The Student Room Group

England is so depressing, how likely am I able to move country after University?

I have felt this way for a while, I just find England so depressing to live in. I actually live in a really wealthy town, but still it's just so gloomy / small everywhere. I don't like a lot the people as well, I don't want to be offensive but the kind of 'lad culture' which has taken over I just hate that kind of stuff.

I am studying Law and i'd love to move to either America or Canada, permanently. which are so much nicer in terms of houses and everything being much more spread out, way more to do in terms of food / shops / wildlife, and I much prefer the culture there. Would this be possible, or am I limited to European countries only?
(edited 8 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Unless you earn a lot of money, get very lucky, or marry into it, your chance of moving to the US is incredibly small.

You might be better off with Canada. Don't quote me on this, but I think I remember reading that they implement a points-based system for some countries. Having a good degree and being young would work in your favor there.
Original post by loya61
I have felt this way for a while, I just find England so depressing to live in. I actually live in a really wealthy town, but still it's just so gloomy / small everywhere. I don't like a lot the people as well, I don't want to be offensive but the kind of 'lad culture' which has taken over I just hate that kind of stuff.

I am studying Law and i'd love to move to either America or Canada, permanently. which are so much nicer in terms of houses and everything being much more spread out, way more to do in terms of food / shops / wildlife, and I much prefer the culture there. Would this be possible, or am I limited to European countries only?

It greatly depends on what kind of job or future you desire.