The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Yes you can, I got in with only a Level 3 BTEC
Reply 2
Yeah I did! :smile:
Yes you can.
Okay! Thank you! :smile:
Yep. There's only a select few universities that won't (e.g. Oxford and Imperial) but other than that you can get into most courses with just a BTEC, provided it's relevant for the course you're applying for. In some cases they might ask for an accompanying A-Level however, so it's good to check the university websites to see what their requirements are before hand.

Me personally, I did a BTEC extended diploma in Electrical and Electronic engineering and am going to study BEng in E/E engineering this September at the University of Liverpool. I also got offers from Nottingham, Lancaster, Manchester and Aston.

So don't fret! :biggrin:
Original post by elleharrison94
I've heard mixed answers and I was just wondering if you can since I haven't done A- levels.

Thanks.

Yeah you can, my friend did a BTEC and she's going to uni to study criminology and forensics :smile:
You can, just don't get passes, you need merit and distinctions for it to be on par with C and above at A level
Reply 9
I've heard mixed answers and I was just wondering if you can since I haven't done A- levels.

Thanks.

Yes you can but not to every course. What do you want to study at university?
I'd like to study media/film studies!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 11

Posted from TSR Mobile

If you're now doing BTEC Extended Diploma then you should be accepted almost everywhere. BTEC is highly respected in creative fields.
If you want to go uni then you can get away with two A levels or equivalent although I would say do the extended diploma for better options and peace of mind.

If you want to be educated at university level without going uni for the whole time then you can do one A level or equivalent and do a HNC at a college, followed by a HND and then complete the last year at uni.