The Student Room Group

A-level Additional Further Mathematics?

Hello.

The chances of me doing this qualification are slim. My sixth form doesn't formally offer this choice, so I'd have to revise for and sit the exams externally. But, still, I'm interested in the possibility of taking it. It has this shroud of ominousness surrounding it -- almost as if it's so difficult that nobody even asks about it. Also, Googling it comes up with practically nothing.

My questions:

What does the course consist of? Do I simply pick 6 extra maths modules to go with the ones I'm studying in Maths/FM? Do these modules consist of Statistics/Decision/Mechanics modules exclusively, or are there extra pure modules available for AFM students to take?

Would studying for the exams independently be realistic? I'm not 'gifted' in maths -- I don't learn concepts ridiculously quickly. I do, however, love maths, and am prepared to put in as many hours necessary. As long as it's not impossible, I'm more than happy to pursue it

What order should I do my maths modules? Obviously, I'm going to do them linearly (S1, S2, S3 etc..) I don't know how AS will work, since all of the initial maths will be taken alongside regular maths and further maths AS.

Will it go something like this:

AS: C1, C2, FP1, M1, M2, M3, S1, S2, S3
A2: C3, C4, FP2, M4, M5, S4, S5, D1, D2?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I should probably supplement this post with some extra information:
If I do AFM, I'll compliment it with physics in AS. If I think I can handle it, I'll continue it to A2.
I plan on doing either maths, physics, economics or computer science at University. I understand that there isn't a single university in the world that requires AFM, but I stress that I'm doing it for the challenge and because I know I'd enjoy it. If I were doing A-levels exclusively for getting good grades and going to a Russel group, I'd do Maths, Physics, Economics and Further Maths. I want to do this because I want to learn maths.