The Student Room Group

Vet work experience

Hi there!
I'm an italian student wishing to apply for the Veterinary Medicine course commencing in 2016 but I've had difficulties in gaining work experience because, here in Italy, there are problems with policy insurance for students who are stil studying at the high school. I understand that this experience is essential in order to be considered for a place at the university. Could anyone of you describe me what kind of experience (also how many days or hours you spent) you managed to get in order to be offered of a place for Veterinary Medicine?
Thank you,
Eleonora
Original post by elevett
Hi there!
I'm an italian student wishing to apply for the Veterinary Medicine course commencing in 2016 but I've had difficulties in gaining work experience because, here in Italy, there are problems with policy insurance for students who are stil studying at the high school. I understand that this experience is essential in order to be considered for a place at the university. Could anyone of you describe me what kind of experience (also how many days or hours you spent) you managed to get in order to be offered of a place for Veterinary Medicine?
Thank you,
Eleonora

Are you wanting to study in the UK or in Italy?
Every get school is slightly different: here in the UK, based on my experience, the average for overall work experience is about 6 weeks and usually at least one or two weeks should be in a vets. The most vet experience you need is for Liverpool, which is 4 weeks spent in at least two different practices.