The Student Room Group

Beginning three languages at once - too ambitious?

Right now I am taking a gap year and have enrolled onto weekly German and Italian beginner classes. I will be learning Italian from scratch but I have self-taught myself to speak some basic German (writing and spelling not so much) so I think I will at least have a head-start in the German classes.

However, somewhere down the line I would like to take on some uni modules in Classics - so I am wondering if it would be wise to enrol on a Latin course during my gap year as well? I do have some basic knowledge of Latin and do have a genuine interest in learning an ancient language regardless of whether it will be useful to me or not.

I am wondering if this idea is too ambitious... Has anyone here learned more than 2 languages at once? What are your thoughts/advice?
Yes it is too ambitious. No university will let you do two languages from scratch let alone three. Knowing the basics isn't enough, you have to have an A level in at least one of the languages you study. If you're not A2 standard in any language then you will have to limit yourself to studying one language at degree level, although there is nothing to stop you taking other languages at the university language centre in your spare time.
Reply 2
Original post by Snufkin
Yes it is too ambitious. No university will let you do two languages from scratch let alone three. Knowing the basics isn't enough, you have to have an A level in at least one of the languages you study. If you're not A2 standard in any language then you will have to limit yourself to studying one language at degree level, although there is nothing to stop you taking other languages at the university language centre in your spare time.