The Student Room Group

Lonely at Uni

So, I'm in second year (Leeds) and last year, i just really did not get on with my flatmates. They were loud, clicky and just weren't interested. I tried, went into the kitchen, ate in the kitchen etc.

I made a friend on my course, who I am still friends with, but she's no longer on my course, i always have to make the effort and she is starting to just ignore me now unless i'm wanting to go out or i'll pay for something.

This year i'm in private accommodation. I thought it was going really well, until friends made stopped knocking on my door, it would go silent in the kitchen or on nights out they'd ditch me.

I do try, i don't pester people nor do i completely shut myself out. But, i'm not a huge fan of nights out and more of just a pub or bar person, but no one here seems to be the same. They're either at one end of the scale, or the other.

I text people on other floors a lot and occasionally arrange things, but never really get round to doing stuff.

Lectures and societies are starting this week, so that will keep me busy, but I honestly can't say I've met a BFFL (whereas my boyfriend met his really easily, other friends are having a blast etc).

I just don't know what it is, i'd love to make friends and i'm usually very good at it, i had a lot of friends at school, i'm up for anything, love having fun and a good laugh and i'm not nasty or boring or anything.

I'm just not clicking with people. And i know there are others in my situation, but it's hard to get the confidence to message them to say "do you want to meet up2 or similar.

Any advice?
Anyone else in a similar situation?

Reply 1
I've had the same.

I had a large friendship circle in college and school. I've kept friends with people since primary school even. We all clicked really well.

I come to uni, and just not matter how hard i try to meet up and go out and do stuff, even that isn't enough.