The Student Room Group

How many PhD applications are acceptable?

Hi! I'm an LLM student at Utrecht University having just finished my LLB in the UK and I'm currently writing my research proposal for PhD.

I'm wondering how many universities I should be applying to? I've identified some potential supervisors. For my LLM I applied to 3 universities and got offered 2 places. I don't want to unnecessarily bother my references if applying for 3 PhD places is not really the done thing.
Maybe 3-5?
Reply 2
Bit difficult to know for referees working in a different uni system.

In the UK, most people are chasing funded PhDs which are incredibly competitive. In my field, academic referees might expect to be providing references over several years before a student either gets funding or gives up. It would be unusual to find more than two or three appropriate funded PhDs per year in my field (I've seen one for which I might have applied, in five years of looking!)

It might be worth having a chat with your referees and just asking them what they would expect, and when the level of work might become an imposition.
I always thought that you could apply to as many or few as you wished, or is this not the case? Surely it's up to you? Not like it's UCAS, where you have 5 options.
(edited 8 years ago)
There's no limit. It's like applying for a job. Just go for it! But be polite and honest when you discuss with your supervisor that you are looking at x other positions so they know you might withdraw when you get one.
Original post by holly_1994
I always thought that you could apply to as many or few as you wished, or is this not the case? Surely it's up to you? Not like it's UCAS, where you have 5 options.