The Student Room Group

Losing my hair and shaving it off. Will this become an issue in the dating world?

I have been losing my hair since i was around 18 years old. It's been receding at a very slow pace, but now at 26 it's become a lot more noticeable and it's a lot more difficult to hide. I can still hide it somewhat if i have it cut to a medium length, but it's not longer growing at the same rate and it's taking twice as long for it to grow.

I have been considering shaving it down to a buzzcut, but i don't particularly like the idea of a shaven head. I used to have a buzz a few years ago and girls would still find me attractive as i have a decent looking face that suits a shaven head, but i would much rather hair on my head as it makes me look more youthful i guess.

I am relatively confident and carry myself well, well at least i think so, but losing my hair is a bit of a knock to the confidence i once had. I do wear hats a lot, usually baseball new era caps or trucker caps because a hat at least adds a bit of character to my head than a lack of hair does.

I don't know what to do. Shall i shave it all off? I am trying to hold on to my hair for as long as possible :biggrin: so maybe i just need to man up and shave it off. I can't afford a hair transplant and, by all accounts some of them look awful after the money spent to have the procedure done.
Reply 1
Have you seen The Rock? As a straight man, I can say I would do things to that man :nooo: (no homo, maybe a little homo)
Reply 2
Hair isn't a big deal tbh

Just shave it off :wink: if you don't like it, it'll grow back... probably...
A completely shaven head suits some people more than others, but you won't know how it really looks nor how you really feel about it until you do it.

If you don't like it, it'll grow back anyway. Plus you wear caps most of the time, so there's no real harm done.
Think of it this way;
If you are thinking about shaving it off it looks thin. You have two choices;

1) Shave it or