The Student Room Group

I'm not allowed to take my head scarf off

As I'm sitting down typing, I cant help but wonder if religion is man made. I have been researching science a lot lately and unfortunately it has made me doubt the religion that I have grown up with and loved one day. To know that Islam could of been man made is as bad as finding out that santa is not real.

Moving on, I created this thread as I would like advice from people who do and do not not practice Islam. I wore a headscarf(hijab) when I was 8 years old because I was scared of my swimming teacher and I am now 22 years old and I still wear it. The reason why I would like to take it off is because of many reasons 1): I am not religious and 2): nobody is employing me. In regards to point two, I have a degree and a years experience in the business sector but for some reason my hijab is a barrier for me. Although I do have many family members who do not rock the hijab, I have very strict parents(mum is reading the quran as I type) and they care very much about me going to "heaven" and about what the community will say. I cant take it off behind their back because I literally have cousins living in every corner of England and the word will spread quick. I have tried speaking to my mum and she told my dad who said to me"its in our quran, you must follow our holy book". What an earth do I do? I do not want to run away because my parents are fair to me. I even have a uncle who is always asking me take it off but my mum laughs at him and takes it lightly when he is serious!!!!

Scroll to see replies

are you saying you dont believe in islam? or your not comfortable with a headscarf? 2 different things gurlll