The Student Room Group
Graduation day, University of Glasgow
University of Glasgow
Visit website

Could someone explain the ridiculous entry requirements for internationals?

Hey!

I'm a Finnish student applying to a bunch of British universities (Oxford, Warwick, Durham etc.) this year and was looking at Glasgow out of curiosity. I searched for their international entry requirements and stumbled upon this entry requirement table: http://www.gla.ac.uk/media/media_245396_en.pdf

My jaw dropped when I saw their requirements for the Finnish Ylioppilastutkinto:
"Award of Ylioppilastutkintodistus (Certificate of the Matriculation Exam) with L (Grade 7) in at least four subjects." (They didn't even type the word "Ylioppilastutkintotodistus" properly, lol)

And this is their stated minimum entry requirement. They require the best grade in four subjects. This means that you have to score in the top 5% in four different subjects to achieve grades of LLLL. This applies to every subject taken, as the grade distribution is done via a form of normal distribution, which ensures there is no grade inflation and in any given year only 5% of students fail and 5% of students achieve the top grade.

Now when we look at the A-level requirements for an example, they range from AAA-ABB. So you have to score in the top 15-30% in three tests if you are taking A-levels instead of the Ylioppilastutkinto. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grade_inflation#UK_GCSE_Level_classifications_from_June_1988_to_2015

This is pretty ridiculous. Due to the grade distribution, a Laudatur is basically an A*, as both are awarded to the top 5% (well actually even the A* is awarded on average to 8% of students instead of 5%).

So basically Glasgow is asking Finnish students to provide them with grades of A*A*A*A* while asking others for grades of AAA-ABB.