The Student Room Group

Economics Masters in Europe

Hi,

I'm a final year economics student at warwick, looking to apply for masters courses soon and looking for some advice on where I should be looking at in Europe in terms of the most prestigious institutions. Relevant info:
- Academically, my application is strong (high first achieved in both first and second years)
- My main areas of interest are development econ, environmental econ, international econ. However, I do genuinely enjoy most areas of economics that I've studied so am quite flexible on course content if somewhere has the right course quality, lifestyle and financial feasibility.
- I'm not really interested in a phd; I'm interested in econ consulting, work in international institutions or government,
- Finances are a major factor. Self-funding is not possible for me in most places and I'm also ineligible for many scholarships/grants that I've looked at based on socioeconomic data.

Places I'm looking at right now:

1) UK (fully contingent on postgraduate loans actually being rolled out next year, might not even be financially feasible then):
- Cambridge
- LSE (environmental econ masters)
- UCL (environmental econ masters)

2) Netherlands (cheap one year courses in a country and culture that I love, tuition fee loan potentially available from Dutch government)
- UvA
- Erasmus University Rotterdam
- Tilburg

3) Other
- SSE (no fees but 2 years of expensive living costs)
- Universidad Carlos III Madrid (Erasmus+ masters loans are available in Spain only for now and could help me fund this)
- ???

Where else should I be looking? I'm finding it quite difficult to work out which schools have the best international reputation. Any advice on funding study (whether its general or specific to a particular country or university) would also be very much appreciated. I'm keeping a close eye out for updates on Erasmus+ masters loans.

Many thanks!
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
Most are two year master's.