The Student Room Group

Crohn's disease and accommodation

I'm in my third year of a four year course and I was officially diagnosed with crohn's disease around five months ago. I currently rent private accommodation, but it looks like I'm going to have to move back into halls next year, but the problem is I need my own bathroom and there's no way I can afford the universities price for En-suite.
This will be the first year that I've considered applying for DSA (disabled student allowance) and I was wondering how likely it would be for the university to help pay towards the en-suite price, or for student finance to give me some money to pay towards it?
Original post by hwdde95
I'm in my third year of a four year course and I was officially diagnosed with crohn's disease around five months ago. I currently rent private accommodation, but it looks like I'm going to have to move back into halls next year, but the problem is I need my own bathroom and there's no way I can afford the universities price for En-suite.
This will be the first year that I've considered applying for DSA (disabled student allowance) and I was wondering how likely it would be for the university to help pay towards the en-suite price, or for student finance to give me some money to pay towards it?

As you're asking about DSA I've moved this to the disabled students section of the site, you much more likely to get a helpful answer here :smile:
Reply 2
I think getting actual funding depends on whether or not you get PIP, I'm applying for uni this year and at the open days when I've seen the disabilities officer they've never mentioned funds, just providing equipment such as recording equipment for me for lectures.
I'm not entirely sure, you'd have to ask an expert!
Original post by SMer