The Student Room Group

Social Work

If anyone is in 'the know'...

I have a good degree from an excellent university, and as a graduate i have 'irons in the fire' as far as a future career goes. One thing i'm currently looking into is social work, for a variety of reasons. Besides the challenging nature of the work, working with people which should prove interesting, the pay seems reasonable, averaging out at 25k for newly qualified Social Workers, and of course, you can progress further and beyond etc...

Now i'd have to do a MA/DipSW of two years to become qualified as a social worker...

For those 'in the know', who have done the two years, are qualified, or have friends and/or family who have 'been there, done that' with this qualification and are Social Workers, could you just tell me a little more??? I have sent off for an information pack on Social Work...BUT it'd be nice to hear from anyone here who has first-hand experience, or has someone they know with first-hand experience, of gaining the qualification and/or working in Social Care sectors, i.e. mental health, disabilities, substance abuse et al....
white_haired_wizard
If anyone is in 'the know'...

....or has someone they know with first-hand experience, of gaining the qualification and/or working in Social Care sectors, i.e. mental health, disabilities, substance abuse et al....

Hi there,

My partner is a qualified SW and is currently working in Mental Health. I must say, you must be totally dedicated to helping others who are in need and vulnerable. Most SW that i know (and I know quite a few, through my partner) are in it for the work, passion and not for the money. Yes, the money isn't that bad, if you work out what other jobs, careers are paying and progression is always available, depending on which Council, County or Service you work for.