The Student Room Group
The reception
Heriot-Watt University
Visit website

Heriot-Watt 2016 Applicants - Ask us anything!

Hi guys

I know a lot of you are making your mind up right now about 2016 UCAS applications, so here's a chance for you to ask any questions you might have about Heriot-Watt.
From student life to accommodation or great things about Edinburgh we'll try and come back to you with useful advice so fire away!
Cheers

Heriot-Watt Student Room Team (Keir, Sophie and Carole):dancing2:

Scroll to see replies

Hey guys,

My name is Conor I'm a final year business student at Heriot-Watt and here to answer any questions you all have. I'm posting some FAQs that might help you out but feel free to post and ask anything else you want to know!

Applying…
Apart from specific entry requirements listed in the prospectus, are there any other subjects that would be preferred when applying?

Spoiler

Do you accept re-sits? Do you prefer Advanced Highers to re-sits (Scottish students)?

Spoiler

Do you look for relevant work experience? If so, what kind?

Spoiler

Do you prefer school age applicants to apply after 6th year, or are you happy to accept from5th year? (Scotland only)

Spoiler

What is the departments view on deferred entry and gap years?

Spoiler

Once you start...
Ratio of Home / EU / ‘Rest of UK’/ International?

Spoiler

What is the male / female ratio

Spoiler

How many contact hours do students spend in class/ lectures/ tutorials/ lab classes each week?

Spoiler

How is the course assessed? Will students have “final” exams? What form will continuous assessment take?

Spoiler

Are there any course field trips– either home or abroad?

Spoiler

Is there an opportunity to study abroad for a semester/ academic year? If so, which universities does the department have links with?

Spoiler

Graduate employability
What kind of starting salary can the Heriot-Watt graduate expect?

Spoiler

How much help is there with career planning and application processes?