The Student Room Group

Should our student finance be determined on our parents income?

Hi guys, I'm new to student room!
I am currently studying Accounting and Finance (foundation year) at UCLan in Preston. As part of one of my assignments I am currently conducting some research to use in my assignments, its 10 questions and shouldn't take any more than 2/3 minutes and it would help me a lot!

In my personal opinion, I don't think your student finance should be solely based on your parents income, because if your parents are high earners e.g. to the extent where Student Finance refuse to give you any grant/loan, HOWEVER your parents decide not to financially support you for university, then how is that fair on the student? Although parents should take responsibility there will be some cases of parents who don't, so what options would the student then have? This came across to my mind and that's why I chose this topic.

The link to the survey is https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/DFNXPXC

Thanks,
Bilal!
I am not applicable to your survey, but I am curious to know how you would means test finance? Or would you just have everyone receive what they wanted up to a limit?
Reply 2
Filled in your survey. And yes I believe the premis of parental income dictating how much financing your allowed can be absurd.

However in many situations it is suitable. For instance I have a coursemate whos parents pay his rent and car bills every month. And yet he recieves the same financing options as myself who was cut off the moment I turned 16 (Mum & dad on low income, step father who is apart of my "household" has no interest in aiding me financially but earns enough to make me entirely ineligible for any financial aid from the state).
Reply 3