The Student Room Group

Not eligible for funding because I have CertHE... Should I appeal?

I'm a mature student. Started a part time BA degree at a red brick uni in 2003. I completely self-funded my studies as at that time fees were omly about £1k a year - nothing like it is today! Around mid year in 2005, had to quit my course (but completed it up to June 2005 so I cashed in my credits for a CertHE). Well reason for quitting was my husband got retrenched by workplace, which closed down, then he found a job at another city nearly 200 miles away. With a toddler to raise, we felt it was best we move to the new city for the new job opportunity as it would be better than going on JSA with no guarantee of good job prospects staying in our old place.

Anyway so, I felt I was ready to start a degree again this year or the next, now that my child is a teenager and I have a bit more time to myself. I applied for student finance england to fund a new BA by distance learning, but received a rejection letter from SFE stating I was not eligible for funding - they did not even mention I could have funding for years 2 and 3 of the degree. They sent me a student loans contract in the post a few days after the rejection letter, with a big fat £0 on it, with a letter I could sign to confirm I accept the contract agreement! This is bizarre! What is the point of asking me to sign a contract that stated I was eligible for £0 for 2015/2016?!

Anyway I feel really upset by this. From reading other threads, I get the impression I would be eligible for year 2 and year 3 of my new BA even if they were to deny me funding for the qualification I possess for completing year 1 of a BA in 2005. But there was absolutely no mention of it in the rejection letter or the student loan contract I was sent.