The Student Room Group

BSC Adult Nursing placement problems?

Hi guys, I am a first year Nursing student and it's been about 3 days since i started my placement in a hospital but I haven't even met my mentor yet. My friends who are in different hospitals work with Nurses/Mentors who show them how to do injections, dressings but all i have learnt is to make beds and move patients around. I always stay with Healthcare assistants because the nurses seem busy doing their paperworks. People ask me to get things for them but i don't even know where they keep their things(bed sheets, tissues) so i ask them to show it to me and they do it. Everyones been talking about the things they been learning but i haven't been taught anything. I talked to the manager about my problem and she said she will try to fix it soon. I think as a first year student someone should always be with me to teach me but i don't really have anyone responsible for me. This is making me so upset. They don't even tell me where, with who i should be working so i get so confused. I asked them where i should work but they just told me to go and make sure patients are alright. On my first day, I was left alone and I was so depressed. I asked them who i should work with so they told me to stay with the Nurse and HCA but the nurse was busy doing her paperwork so i stayed with the HCA and made beds and washed patients. Even the HCA asked me who is responsible for me and when i said nobody she was surprised. As a first year student, am i allowed to do night shifts because i was asked if i wanna do it.
Thank you!
(edited 8 years ago)
Hi there,

I am a nurse and will try to assist you. Firstly you are a first year student and washing patients, changing bed sheets etc are nursing tasks. You will discover by the time you qualify, that these tasks are of great importance.