The Student Room Group

Going home every mid-week in fear of loneliness

I'm A first year uni student. The only thing i enjoy in uni is freedom and having no parents to bully me.

Sadly since freshers period ended, i've realise i have no friends and that everyone was fake and was only coming to me if i was drunk. Hence night outs no longer happen.

I'm ashamed of this and despite i have tried my best, I can't see any reasons to go further.

Basically the plan is to go home every thursday and come back to uni on Monday lectures. Do you think this is a good idea. I have depression to notebut luckily drinking vodka is helping it which is good.
Reply 1
Any help please. This is urgent as i'm planning to discuss this with my family
Reply 2
I went home every weekend and Tuesday night when at uni (in 2000) as I felt myself sliding into depression (long story, read the full version in a thread I started in December 2014.)
While at the time it felt like it helped, now, my advice would actually be NO! At the age of 35 (and weirdly I have repressed this until last year) I strongly regret not trying harder socially.

Are you male or female? Men (like me) do seem to be more at risk of social isolation. However, I would strongly urge you to keep trying! You have to take the initiative as well, don't expect others to always take the initiative and invite you out. And as much as it is easier said than done, try floors below/above if your own floor is unsociable or cliqued off. The fact that I got invited to a drinking game night by a girl on the floor after I had pretty much locked myself in my room for 5 months proves that it is never too late. Try societies. Maybe a small part time job at the weekend to extend your possible social circle beyond just the uni?

PS the depression.......it can be very Catch 22 - without friends/company it is easy to slide into it but hard to get friends if you are depressed! For me it was white lightning lol!