The Student Room Group

Schools Direct Applicants 2016

Hi :smile: I thought I'd start a thread for those of us applying for Schools Direct placements so that we could share interview tips and whatnot.

I have applied for Primary (Special Educational Needs) through The Sheffield Teaching Schools Alliance, The North Tyneside Teaching Schools Alliance and The Yorkshire Inclusive Teaching Schools Alliance.

I had an interview for the Sheffield one on Thursday. It was ok but it could have gone a lot better, I'm anticipating a "no".

I have been invited to an interview with The Yorkshire Inclusive TSA on 03/12/15 which I'm pretty nervous about! I have to do a written task (which should be fine as I'm an English Lit student), a formal interview with a panel of senior leaders from the alliance and I have 15-20 minutes to teach a kind of reading comprehension lesson to a group of mixed-ability Y3 children.

I am yet to hear from The North Tyneside TSA.

Has anybody else had or been invited to an interview? What did/do you have to do for it?

Scroll to see replies

good luck.
Went to my interview on Wednesday and got a full offer the same day.

Had to do a teaching episode, a practice numeracy and literacy test, a subject audit and a formal interview. (A casual 6 hours).

This was my first choice, so I've withdrawn from others.
Reply 3
Original post by Findlay6
Went to my interview on Wednesday and got a full offer the same day.

Had to do a teaching episode, a practice numeracy and literacy test, a subject audit and a formal interview. (A casual 6 hours).

This was my first choice, so I've withdrawn from others.

Congratulations! Where was this at? :smile:
Reply 4
Original post by ebonyeyes
good luck.

Thanks! Are you applying too?
Original post by Dominique95
Congratulations! Where was this at? :smile:

Pilgrim Learning Alliance
Reply 6
I haven't applied yet, I am not living in the UK at the moment but teaching English as a second language abroad.