The Student Room Group

Quit PGCE?

Hello,

I am new to tsr, looking for some advice regarding my pgce placement.

I have been on placement 1 in Reception since 8th October.

Quick summary:

*Placement school unaware of my arrival

*School unaware of student teaching requirements (i have shared all information from university with CT, attepaended PPA and Phase Meetings to push this also)

*I do not have a mentor (my CT will recieve training at the end of placement 1)

*Im now meant to be on a 50% teaching timetable - I have taught the whole class once since starting (because the teacher had the morning off) - I had a TA in the room

*Prior to this I've been told to supervise child initaited activites.

*I have had many meetings to raise my concerns to student union, tutors, link tutors and course director. No support has been put in place other than my CT will eventually recieve mentor training. - I'm told I'm lucky to be in a school....

I've been incredibly disenchanted with the idea of teaching or persuing this course, because of this placement. I'm considering withdrawing and looking at School's Direct options. (School I have previously worked at have offered me a salaired training route, in light of these circumstances - i'll have to wait one year)

Main Questions:

*Is it normal on a PGCE to be placed in a school without a mentor?
*Should my complaints not lead to further investigation of the support being provided in school?
*How can the school be a 'partnership' school. They tell me they themsleves are not being supported.
*How can i be expected to teach a 70% timetable in Placement 2 when I'm not being given inputs to teach in PP1 - unless the teacher uses me as supply!
*I'm not recieving observations or feedback on any group work, teaching I do
*Cut my loses and go for the Schools direct or continue?

*I have a student loan and recieve a bursary for this course, if i withdraw what do I have to repay?