The Student Room Group

French

Hi everyone i have been trying to remember my french (for a speaking exam) for about 3 weeks and i can only remember the 1st paragraoh has anyone got any tips as i only have 2 week left 😭
Original post by jwelton99
Hi everyone i have been trying to remember my french (for a speaking exam) for about 3 weeks and i can only remember the 1st paragraoh has anyone got any tips as i only have 2 week left 😭

I'm just moving this to the foreign languages section for you! :h: however, I'd advise writing the sentences out repeatedly until you can remember them and say them aloud. It is a bit time consuming sometimes but it really makes it stick! Alternatively, read a few sentences aloud at a time and say them over and over. I have little experience with languages but this has always helped me memorise things! :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by Changing Skies
I'm just moving this to the foreign languages section for you! :h: however, I'd advise writing the sentences out repeatedly until you can remember them and say them aloud. It is a bit time consuming sometimes but it really makes it stick! Alternatively, read a few sentences aloud at a time and say them over and over. I have little experience with languages but this has always helped me memorise things! :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile

Okay thanks ill try it thursday.
Reply 3
Quizlet can be really great for exactly this, it's going to be time consuming either way - might as well learn it word perfect.
Original post by jwelton99

Hi I've had to memorize 430 words for my french exam within 24 hours so i would recommend this method which worked for me :

1.break the text down into digestible chunks by marking it out with a pen(sizes of texts that you can memorize at once)

2.say the chunks over and over again until you can say it without referring back to the text.