The Student Room Group

What are my options?

Hi,
I'm in my final year of A2's at the moment. I usually get good grades, but I'm struggling under pressure and am thinking of quitting, dropping one subject, or dropping down to German alone. I may just stay and see how my A Levels go, but I'd like to know what my options are.

Ideally I'd like to have a career with German in the future, but I wondered that if I did quit, or if I only ended up with German at A Level, what my options would be of getting a career with German involved. I'd like to do translation.
Reply 1
To do translation, you need good grades. Dropping subjects because you are lazy is a poor way of getting onto your career path. Face it, you have about 1 and a half months left (if that!) before you go on study leave, so suck it up, put in the work, and it'll pay off when you aren't lying in the gutter.
Reply 2
I'm not lazy, but I'm suffering from depression, anxiety and stress.
Reply 3
Well, chin up. :smile:

Only a month or so to go.
Reply 4
I've done quite a lot of work, but I'm just an awkward person whose rather negative. Hopefully I'll manage to carry on. I don't like the idea of dropping out.
Reply 5
I'm not usually hard on people, but dropping out this close to being near the end of everything would be completely stupid. You're 1-2 months away from going off to do study leave and you'd consider chucking away all the hard work that you've put into your subjects?

It's definately worth getting your A-levels no matter how **** it seems right now! Stick with it, things will get less stressful once you're on study leave and don't put too much presssure on yourself. No matter what you get in your exams, at least you will have sat them, rather than just caving in when things get tough.