The Student Room Group

What should I prepare for the application for mathematics and computer science course

I am in Year 12 now and studying maths, further ma,physics and economics in AS. I got gold in senior maths challenge and only one mark less than the BMO threshold. I am wondering what should I prepare for the application next year, like competitions, activities,especially competitions on computer science since I know little about them. And...I want to know if BMO really matters...

Posted from TSR Mobile
Hey, I am a current year 13 student with 4 offers for Maths and Computer Science. I think doing some extra reading around the subjects may help as this shows enthusiasm for the course. For example I mentioned that I had read "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "The Code Book", both by Simon Singh. In terms of other activities I mentioned the maths challenges as well as the taking part in the team challenge. For the computer science side of things I mentioned that I had been attempting problems from https://projecteuler.net/ and that I was learning Python.
Original post by NamelessPersona
Hey, I am a current year 13 student with 4 offers for Maths and Computer Science. I think doing some extra reading around the subjects may help as this shows enthusiasm for the course. For example I mentioned that I had read "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "The Code Book", both by Simon Singh. In terms of other activities I mentioned the maths challenges as well as the taking part in the team challenge. For the computer science side of things I mentioned that I had been attempting problems from https://projecteuler.net/ and that I was learning Python.

Hey thanks that's really useful, where were your offers from? I'm thinking of doing the same thing (doing Maths, F.Maths, Chem, Physics and Computing A-Level), would you recommend the EPQ for CompSci?
Original post by MJackson998