The Student Room Group

how many revs to prevent a stall?

I'm new to driving, I passed but my car feels different to the one I learned it. They are both petrol but it does take getting used to. It's a 1.4litre 2002 ford fiesta and I can't constantly hear my engine revving as I don't want to stall.

Apart from the odd occasion when I panic when rolling back on a hill and quickly engage the handbrake, it's going okay. A question on that, how do people know if they're on a slight hill?

Also, I feel I'm using the handbrake a lot because I'm not comfortable with my car right now. Like the biting point is different and I'd rather waste a few seconds and get beeped than get the riding the clutch completely wrong and going into someone.
How many revs? Too many factors to say really, 1.5-2 is the usual area for most situations, might need more for hills.

How do people know they're on a slight hill? They might have been able to see the difference from down the road, alternatively, the car will roll, that's usually how I end up figuring out if I assumed it was flat anyway.

Using the handbrake a lot isn't really that bad tbh, it's cheaper to sort the handbrake out than it is to replace a clutch. You shouldn't sit on the bite to stop the car rolling, it eats through the clutch (and your wallet).
You are supposed to use the handbrake.

It is bad practice to depress the clutch or use the foot brake. I am just as guilty as most, but you should select neutral and apply the handbrake at traffic lights.

Pay attention if stopped at lights and look ahead so that you se the lead car set off. If you're a few cars behind, that's plenty time to get the brake off and into gear. It's just getting used to it.
The handbrake is my best friend fam.