The Student Room Group

Uni Graduates - Interior design/architecture postgrad courses advice!

Hi Guys,

I am new to this forum. I am a recent graduate from the University of Hertfordshire. My course was in model making and special effects and I am extremely keen and determined to train for a career in interior design. I currently work in architecture as a model maker and at the moment I am looking for courses.

I was at Masters courses at the Royal collect of art and I don't really feel it would prepare me at all for industry. All friends just said to a masters, but I dont feel it would benefit me or any MA in the subject at all. I need a grounding in the subject and so I have been to see some of the tutors at various London University's to talk about entering an interior design course at second year. I feel I have some relevant skills and I want the accelerated entry. In terms of funding I could only manage 2 years at undergraduate level , that is another reason for second year entry.
The University's I am interested in applying to are:

Westminster
Kingston
Middlesex

Are there any students or graduates from these courses who can advise me. How much of the first year would I miss out on and could I adjust work a lot of hard work from year 2?

I did speak to one of the tutors from Middlesex but I didn't feel much confidence although I feel determined if I entered into second year.

The other alternative courses I am looking at are
UAL - Graduate diploma Interior Design. I have heard mixed reviews on this particular course and that Chlesea's work is too abstract and isn't grounded in reality. I did visit the course but I am not sure I am convinced. I would cap it of with a masters afterwards.
KLC - Diploma Interior Design. Quite a lot of money for one year but I suppose it is worth it. I hope to visit the school. It has some good reviews but I am not sure how it compares in terms of teaching compared to 3 year BA programme.