The Student Room Group

Social anxiety in final year, cant get support

Hi

In my final year I decided to use the counelling service at uni for my issues

i only have 1 left since there is very limited supply and high demand

in my penultimate apointment she gave me a leaflet for a free local counselling service (offering CBT). I heard this is good for social anxiety

i called them , and asnwered loads of question

it turns out there is a 6 month waiting list

i feel really scared because after 1 more session i will have noting and i am struggling so so so much with this social anxiety

its made me feel very down
Reply 1
Have you been to see your GP? They may be able to support you in the meantime and you may be offered medication if your anxiety is quite severe
Hey anon, I'm in my final year, suffering from anxiety and also on a CBT waiting list, so I sympathise with you completely.

Have you applied for DSA? It may take a while to sort out, but I applied in around January and was allocated a mentor in about March, with whom I've been having regular meetings since. See if there's anyone you can contact at your uni about this and you can ask them what they can give you. You'll still have to wait, but it won't be 6 months!

On that subject, my mentor linked me to a website called MoodJuice which has loads of self-help leaflets and strategies. Here's the one for social anxiety: http://www.moodjuice.scot.nhs.uk/shynesssocialphobia.asp
Reply 3
Original post by goldfishgirl
Hey anon, I'm in my final year, suffering from anxiety and also on a CBT waiting list, so I sympathise with you completely.

Have you applied for DSA? It may take a while to sort out, but I applied in around January and was allocated a mentor in about March, with whom I've been having regular meetings since. See if there's anyone you can contact at your uni about this and you can ask them what they can give you. You'll still have to wait, but it won't be 6 months!