The Student Room Group

To current students and teacher of CS: How important is maths?

Hi all,

I am a mature student (24) on an Access to IT HE course, looking to study CS at Uni in 2016.

However, I have very little maths knowledge. I'm talking about almost zero geometry, passable arithmetic and slightly better Algerba skills. I would certainly fail a GCSE higher maths test (high school leaving test).

Back in school, I was good at maths, and I'm working really hard to relearn everything, and making good progress. I think I could definitely get a B GCSE maths (the stated minimum requirement for my top pick) by the time Uni starts.

I can code a little, have a decent grasp of basic CS stuff like abstraction, data types, flow-control etc. I'm also slightly familiar with things like classes, OOP, testing etc. And I do have a few years of working in fairly respectable non-IT jobs.

If I do well on my current course, I can definitely get into University. The thing that's eating me up is that the course doesn't have much maths in it, and I feel like CS at Uni is a very maths heavy subject and I will struggle.

I've been thinking that maybe I should wait till 2017, get a solid A* in GCSE maths, program a little more, etc. Maybe this'll give me a better chance to succeed once I get to Uni.

What is your view? 2017 or now? How important is maths to Uni CS? What do I need to know? Could I push hard and make up the gap in time?

TY for your responses.
Reply 1
I am studying Software Engineering so it may differ slightly to CS, that being said subjects that I have covered so far that include math components i.e Logics(Lambda Calculus, Propositional Logic), Computer Architecture(MIPS, HEX, Two;s compliment etc..) & Combinatorics(Graph Theory) tend to be the most maths heavy on my degree. However maths creeps into every class someway or another.