The Student Room Group

Pharmacology student - can't decide on what to do next

Hey guys. I'm currently studying pharmacology as an undergrad in my third year. I figure it's probably quite a common thing but I'm worrying a lot about what course to apply for next after I graduate. I've heard a lot that further study in science is pretty important and I'm quite content going through with it, though I'm worried about being landed in a career that's unstable or that I don't enjoy.

In terms of what my interests are, the enviromental side of biology, which isn't really too relevant to my course, seems like a lot more of an interesting subject than the medical-based science stuff that I'm doing just now, which isn't so bad. It's quite interesting, but I wouldn't call it a real passion of mine. I'm quite a nature lover, I like to go out hiking and camping and stuff like that, so it seems to me like studying ecosystems or plants or something like that might be something I enjoy. It might just be a "grass is greener" thing though (no pun intended) since I haven't actually studyied this stuff since high school and I'm also worried that it might be hard getting work or funding in this route since medical science is more important to the general public than nature science.

In terms of what I want from a job, I'm the same as a lot of science students I think. I'd like something that pays a reasonable amount. I don't care about being too rich. I just want enough to fund hobbies, eventually get a house, travel every now and again, that sort of thing. I'd of course like something I'm interested in enough that I enjoy my work. And of course, I'd be happy with any of the typical good things like getting oppertunities to travel and being able to work outside.

So, here's my thoughts on some options.