The Student Room Group

Essay writing help?

Hi there I am currently in my first year at university studying Psychology.

We have already done a few assignments like essays and reports but I am currently struggling with an essay.

I just feel that the topic is already so highly researched that I literally cannot write anything about it without copying what everyone else has already contributed/said if that makes sense? I know that it can be seen as a good thing as there are more resources to use and then more references, but my whole essay would literally just be citations of what other people have done.

This wasn't so much a problem with previous essays because I feel the lack of information forced me to contribute my own input.

Does anyone have any tips of getting around this, or if I am just being stupid haha?
Reply 1
Original post by Juuuuh
Hi there I am currently in my first year at university studying Psychology.

We have already done a few assignments like essays and reports but I am currently struggling with an essay.

I just feel that the topic is already so highly researched that I literally cannot write anything about it without copying what everyone else has already contributed/said if that makes sense? I know that it can be seen as a good thing as there are more resources to use and then more references, but my whole essay would literally just be citations of what other people have done.

This wasn't so much a problem with previous essays because I feel the lack of information forced me to contribute my own input.

Does anyone have any tips of getting around this, or if I am just being stupid haha?

But do you agree with what is written? You don't always have to agree with research, show that there are potential flaws, whether it is multifactorial, what could've been taken into account. No source is flaw free, you are the critic :smile:
Reply 2