The Student Room Group

USC Vs. UCL

As an international student, I've been more inclined towards experiencing US culture away from the 'ghetto mentality' of fellow minority students in the UK. However, being unable to get into any of the 'top' US universities, I've begun to reconsider England.

Now I'm left with the dilemma of picking between USC (University of Southern California) and UCL (University College London.) I hope to major in Economics at USC (although it's likely i might change my mind after experiencing other subjects) whereas at UCL I've already selected an undergraduate degree in Economics and Philosophy.

Any help or pointers please? :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Ooh thats a toughie, I think if it was me I would just about pick UCL over USC. Although it depends on what you're looking for from the experience if anything at all
USC is often referred to in California as "University of Spoiled Children" because it has a lot of rich kids who aren't very academic. It's very expensive and it's not in a nice neighborhood of LA, plus it doesn't have a great academic reputation. I would put UCL in a league ahead of USC, if not two leagues ahead of it!
Reply 3
Wasn't there a double shooting there the other day? I saw something on the news about it last night but wasn't paying too much attention.
arkbar
Wasn't there a double shooting there the other day? I saw something on the news about it last night but wasn't paying too much attention.

Erm are you referring to the virginia university shooting. Then I think think its a different university. You only heard about the shooting yday? everyone knows about it...

ANyways, check USC on world university table, even though it is a true indiction of how good a university is, it still gives a general idea of the uni, I think UCL is 22nd or 23rd.
Kelv