The Student Room Group

Do young people in London care about the lack of affordable housing?

--
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 1
Yea, got all my offers back but definitely not going to any London unis because the prices are too damn high. Housing situation in London is looking real bad atm. I live in London btw, but when I move out, i sure aint gonna stay here
Starting to look like no one in our generation will be able to afford a house at this rate.
We'll just have to see what the future holds
Well there are 3 options.

1) get a high paying job so that I can afford a nice place
2) suck it up and live in a cramped flat
3) go live somewhere cheap far from London.

Idk which route I will go down
I'm studying at a uni in London and the cost of housing is near the botyom of my list of reasons why I don't want to live in London when I graduate.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by RivalPlayer
Yeah, I've lived in London all my life and I'm looking to get out. I read somewhere that the average houseprice in London will reach a million by 2025.
I think the city will eventually be a place where only high earning white collar workers and wealthy foreigners reside. I don't see how the city will be able to maintain its diversity.

What's the main reason you don't want to live in London? The young people I've come across are obsessed with being a "Londoner" - even if that means living in cramped, shared households well into their adult lives.

Because it's a playground. As a student I absolutely love it because it's chaotic and there's always something going on/something to do. But going back to my home town is the only reason I can enjoy it. Living here on a permanent basis would be horrible because I would have no escape and all the negative things I can overlook now would dominate. For one, I don't like high rise buildings and crowds and living somewhere where you have no chance of getting to know your neighbours.