The Student Room Group
North Campus, Birmingham City University
Birmingham City University
Birmingham
Visit website

Anybody applying to do PGCE this September?

Hello!!

Calling all prospective PGCE 2016 applicants. Is anyone doing PGCE Primary and Early Years?
Reply 1
Primary pe!! Where are you doing it

Posted from TSR Mobile
North Campus, Birmingham City University
Birmingham City University
Birmingham
Visit website
Hello! Im stressing beyond belief here! I have an interview at UCB in Birmingham in 5 days time. They never do seem to give people enough time in my opinion. There will be literacy and numeracy test. Literacy i feel confident with as i have a former BA English degree. Its numeracy that im panicking over but im blitzing bitesize maths and have books!

Im currently going through CRB checks to get into a childrens centre/nursery and primary school so that will take a while. I do feel that some uni's dont understand the difficulties of even getting into a primary school. I have emailed loads and dont get a response. Ok i had two reply and practically tell me there are no places period from now until september which was a bit shocking. Ive also contacted nurseries but no joy from them either!

I went up to the childrens centre yesterday and was provided with forms and informatiom so i will be taking that with me to prove that its being sorted and shall be doing voluntary once im crb cleared

How can i prepare adequately in 5 days! I really do want to get on this course and become a primary/early years practitioner.

There is another person who has an interview on the same day at the same place and they are also panicking☺
(edited 8 years ago)
Hi, Twinkletoes13; how did you get on with your interview at UCB? I have mine a week from Tuesday! I have applied for PGCE primary 5-11 years. Any advice/tips would be appreciated...
Original post by Jallen1984