The Student Room Group

Languages at A-level

I'm planning to take Spanish as an A-level, but the problem is at GCSE we haven't really learnt a lot of grammar. Will this be a problem? How much are you expected to know at the beginning?
Reply 1
I did French at A-Level and to be perfectly honest I wouldn't say I started learning it until I began there. What I learned at GCSE isn't really memorable to me. As long as you know the basic stuff, like normal tenses, you'll be fine :h:

Be prepared to work, though. :wink:
Original post by luciie
I'm planning to take Spanish as an A-level, but the problem is at GCSE we haven't really learnt a lot of grammar. Will this be a problem? How much are you expected to know at the beginning?

You pretty much just need some vocabulary and you'll be fine. They don't assume that you know anything, so they'll go back over the things you should have learned at GCSE like the present tense, the past tenses etc. before they move on to anything more complex.
Original post by luciie

Yes, it will be a problem! It is always a problem with all modern languages. However, all teachers know this and most will try to do something about it when you start your course. You can help yourself during the summer holidays after your GCSE by making sure that you revise very thoroughly all your conjugations in all the tenses (regular, radical-changing and irregular verbs) that you have learnt for GCSE - these need to be 100% correct, all the time.

Simple tenses: present; imperfect, preterite, future, conditional
Compound tenses: perfect, pluperfect, present continuous, past continuous

Make sure you also revise when to use these: the past tenses, in particular, which can be tricky.

If you do this, you will find the gap between GCSE and A level considerably easier to bridge.
Original post by luciie