The Student Room Group

A-level English Language, how well did you do...?

As a mature student I decided to study GCSE English Language through Adult Community Learning. I was pleased with the result of grade A. Now undertaking A-level English Language though distance learning.

Has anyone else studied this subject at both GCSE and A-level? If so how did you do and how much more difficult is the A-level comparatively to GCSE?

Reply 1
Anyone?? :smile:
Original post by The Seer
As a mature student I decided to study GCSE English Language through Adult Community Learning. I was pleased with the result of grade A. Now undertaking A-level English Language though distance learning.

Has anyone else studied this subject at both GCSE and A-level? If so how did you do and how much more difficult is the A-level comparatively to GCSE?

here's more terminology you will have to use and the structure is different too.

It feels as though it's a lot more "sciencey" because you have to deconstruct everything until it's you get to its most simplest form. It's a lot more technical as you have to know terms that go within a term, within a term - imagine a Russian China doll. A sentence within a clause, a clause within a function, a function with a phrase, a phrase within a root, a root within a word.

A-level Language is all about the nuts and bolts of Language. Whilst the other half is all about how Language is used within the individual. So you'll be learning about how Children acquire language through speaking and writing. So this is more psychology than language. It's an interesting unit if you are into the mind and its processes.