The Student Room Group

Graduates, how many hours do you actually work per week?

Hi all I'm a second year economics student and reality is starting to hit me.

I've read all of these careers in the big 4 and hear of the ''very long hours'' during certain times of the year.

This includes people claiming to start work at 9 and finishing at 7pm. Even 10pm.

This would lead to easily working more than 40 hours per week...

So that lead me to create this thread to do some statistics to get a rough idea. For those who have started a graduate job, please list:

- Company
- Role
- Salary (Optional)
- Hours you are ''contracted'' to work
- Hours you actually work
- Whether or not it averages out to 40 per week
- If you get compensated e.g. overtime for working more than the usual 8 hour day, being able to claim extra hours work as annual leave etc

Thanks in advance :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Studies Economics too.

- £30,000
- 35 hours contracted
- 35 hours worked (but will probably be more like 40 when I rotate next)
- No I would not get overtime
Reply 2
I can't offer much from my own experience, as I am waiting on a start date for my graduate job, but the contracted hours for it are:

Civil Service, Social Researcher
Around £29k
36 hours net (41 hours gross, including meal breaks)
There's also about a 1.5 hour commute either way, so another few hours out of the day. They do also promote flexible working hours though, which can include varying times arriving/leaving work, or varying time/length of lunch break, or in some cases working from home.

My twin brother is a mortgage advisor, and works well over the 40 hours. They are contracted to work over that, and his working week is 55 hours officially, I believe (possibly 57, as I am unsure if his day starts at 8am or 8:30am). Even then, there are still a couple of days a month when he has been in the office until 10pm to midnight to get things finished. I would hate to work for his company.
NHS