The Student Room Group

Would love teach but my degree is not related to the subject and got 3rd class

Hi All,

Please please be gentle with me.
Unfortunately I got a 3rd class degree for few points. My personal life has been quite hard with me, mother ill nearly dying, work issues..... So I ended up with a 3rd, graduated with that. Cannot do anything unless I pay for another one....
Anyway I have always wanted to teach, so I was looking for Maths. Nothing to do with what I have studied at Uni, I thought well I can always do SKE, as soon I get the offer. Also teaching Maths you still get the funds even you do have a 3rd. The thing is I have tried to use UCAS and you can also search uni's who do take 3rd ones but then when you call them, they are confusing themselves and they are starting to say, we don't, if you have nothing related then go and get SKE when it's not the truth and they should know you can't do it unless they give you an offer to the PGCE course.
Anyone really nice knows which Uni really does take a 3rd class with a degree who has not got anything to do with Maths and give you the opportunity to start this career?
Or have you got any idea how to do it in another way?
I am thinking to start back Math degree in another country for 3 years which the costs are really cheap than UK.
Thank you in advance.

Scroll to see replies

Do you have A-level Maths? Have you worked in any fields that require a lot of mathematical skill?

While Maths is a shortage subject (and many providers will accept a third in Maths or a Maths based degree), I think you'll struggle without either of those.
Sorry to hear the providers aren't being straight on the phone. you could rock up at a DfE train to teach event and see if you can get any straight answers face to face.
https://getintoteaching.education.gov.uk/teaching-events/listing?return=true

you could get a job and do an OU degree
Reply 3
Original post by JaneBaratheon