The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
So I have a confirmed place at BU to study as an undergraduate starting this Sept, as I deferred from last year.

I also am a lone parent and my child's under 1 years old. I know it's not the easiest option and there's OU and I can always go back to uni when she's older etc. But in my mind and after considering all options thoroughly I know this is what I should do.

I know what I would get Student Finance-wise, with the tuition and maintenance loans and possibly the childcare and PLA. But would I get help with Housing Benefit and Child Benefit/Tax credits still as a student or would they 100% be stopped?

Also I'll be 20 when I start in September.
im a second year student going to drop my course. If i want to start a new course from level 1 i don't think i will get the Β£9000 in tuition fees for the first year, but would i still be able to apply for maintenance loan?
Reply 3
I think i'll be going for pharmacy so I wanted to ask what you guys think I will need?
i.e besides the ever important laptop....
does anyone use binders? for each course or just one general one?
also any stationary that you think is helpful would be good to know...
Also is a laptop bag easier to carry around (the sling ones etc.) or do most uni kids use bag packs ?

Thanks!
Reply 4
Original post by Student Money Week
As a current university student Ben will be answering any questions you have about what you need to take to university.

Ben is a Maths student at the University of Surrey. He is currently on a placement year, working for the student recruitment team at the university.

Do students have to bring their own pots, pans, plates, cutlery etc?
Reply 5
Hi