The Student Room Group

Struggling to attract attention....

Hello guys,

I am a final year politics student on course to get a 2:1 and I have been extremely motivated about forging myself a career after I graduate.

I am part of two societies, bilingual (Somali being my other language), articulate, good with people, do not get nervous in public settings and work great in a team. However, I have had no luck with applications at all with a 100% rejection rate, I have never even had an interview for a paid job before and I am wondering what it is I am doing wrong.

I know my lack of experience is going to affect me in my search for a job and I am doing my best to get experience, including volunteering with the Citizens Advice Bureau and the British Heart Foundation.

Any advice on how I can make myself stand out and make sure I can create the career I so desperately want?
Original post by Hamsey45
Hello guys,

I am a final year politics student on course to get a 2:1 and I have been extremely motivated about forging myself a career after I graduate.

I am part of two societies, bilingual (Somali being my other language), articulate, good with people, do not get nervous in public settings and work great in a team. However, I have had no luck with applications at all with a 100% rejection rate, I have never even had an interview for a paid job before and I am wondering what it is I am doing wrong.

I know my lack of experience is going to affect me in my search for a job and I am doing my best to get experience, including volunteering with the Citizens Advice Bureau and the British Heart Foundation.

Any advice on how I can make myself stand out and make sure I can create the career I so desperately want?