The Student Room Group

Can you teach yourself coding to a good standard?

Dear all Computing genii

I would love to be able to make silly mods and the like for games such as Skyrim and the Dark Souls series but I wouldn't know where to even begin to start as I cannot write one line of code from memory.

Is it possible to teach yourself programming languages and if so where would you start? I don't really want to go to university to study it because I'm planning to study med chem with aim of studying graduate medicine and none of my a-levels are relevant to programming in any case.

Is it true you need a-level maths to be good at it?

All help appreciated

Sincerely

ARH
Yes, loads of good programmers are self-taught.

Takes time and dedication though. No you don't need A-level math. But you do need your brain to be able to work in an abstract and logical fashion.
Original post by frankieboy
Yes, loads of good programmers are self-taught.

Takes time and dedication though. No you don't need A-level math. But you do need your brain to be able to work in an abstract and logical fashion.

Really? I thought studying it at uni was the way to go

Do you know any good learning resources?
https://www.codecademy.com/learn

Used by millions. It's great.
Which language are you hoping to learn?

SS
Original post by Supersaps
Which language are you hoping to learn?

SS

I'm not quite sure, whichever one codes for graphics in the games I mentioned above? I'm sorry; that's probably very vague but this is what I'm talking about; I'm completely clueless when it comes to matters of programming. I've wrote a few lines of Python and that's the extent of my knowledge haha
Python is pretty sweet. Very flexible and a great starting language as it's fairly descriptive.

I don't believe you need programming skills to mod in most games. They normally have some sort of program that lets you create mods.
Original post by Supersaps