The Student Room Group

Is it time to consider getting a more powerful car?

Hi guys,

Want your opinions on this for anyone who upgraded from their first car to a better model.
I currently drive a Nissan Micra K11, so the old version. It's about 16 years old, engine isn't even a litre!
When i was choosing cars after just passing my test, I was a pretty nervous learner. So a micra seemed adequate enough for speed and short journeys.

I've been driving for about 10 months now, and use my car a lot more than I thought I would. The worst part is - I use it for long, motorway journeys, averaging out about 1,000-2,000 miles per month.
The car hasn't had many problems, a few small inexpensive fixes here and there. However, my parents and friends keep telling me it's time to probably look into getting a more powerful vehicle for the type of driving I do.

One of the main issues is the speed, doing a lot of motorway journeys, it isn't always feasible to drive at 50mph, (where the car is happy) and driving at 70mph makes the car rattle and shake and the revs are quite high. If i always drove at 50mph I'd never get home!

The other is insurance. Being a new driver, I can't see my insurance being too happy with me getting a bigger engine, despite the fact I haven't crashed.
I was planning to wait atleast until next year, but I'm scared the car might have died by then!

Can anyone offer advice on if its time to upgrade from the micra? Or if i should leave it and just continue using it for the type of journeys i do?
Reply 1
To be fair it is an old car and will be doing a fair fuel miles - you probably will need to replace it at some stage. What is the current mileage? It shouldn't just die if you keep on top of the servicing and repairs, but that car won't be worth and awful lot of money. Not a huge problem, but something to think about. Also, newer cars will have a higher level of safety build it!