The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
move off and stop normally however, when stood still do not depress the clutch but nock the car out of gear and apply the handbrake to save wear on the clutch release bearing.
So is it just a combination of the footbrake and clutch? Or can you actually stop and start using the clutch alone? I don't even know if the latter is possible, I'm really new to driving!
Reply 3
It can creep forward with the clutch just down so its a combination of clutch and brakes but mostly clutch. You can probably move without having to actually stop in a lot of times so you can just coast it.
I dont know if this is relevant but my driving instructor always taught me that if you are stationary or are going to be stationary for more than 5 seconds you should handbrake neutral it. He always used eexamples like slow moving traffic or pulling away from a busy junction :biggrin:

dont know why you would bother with that in traffic though unless you were not moving anywhere
louisedotcom
I dont know if this is relevant but my driving instructor always taught me that if you are stationary or are going to be stationary for more than 5 seconds you should handbrake neutral it. He always used eexamples like slow moving traffic or pulling away from a busy junction :biggrin:

To be honest I think that advice is poor, especially at a Junction. You need to be ready to pull away at the next available opportunity, which you can't do quickly if you're faffing around putting it into gear.
Reply 6
bigred
To be honest I think that advice is poor, especially at a Junction. You need to be ready to pull away at the next available opportunity, which you can't do quickly if you're faffing around putting it into gear.

Ditto
Reply 7
Always stay in gear at a junction, don't remember my instructor telling me to go to neutral at a junction....doesnt make sense.