The Student Room Group

Stuck on last part of trig identity question.

secA(sin2A-1)2/[cosA(sec2A - tan2A)]+(2sin2A + cos2A) = 2

secA(sin2A-1)2 = cos3A
[cosA(sec2A - tan2A)] = cosA

what do I do with
(2sin2A + cos2A) ???

and I am new to student room and how do I write equations in a form like other people do?
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Chairm
secA(sin2A-1)2 / [cosA(sec2A - tan2A)] + (2sin2A + cos2A) = 2

secA(sin2A-1)2 = cos3A

what do I do with
(2sin2A + cos2A) ???

and I am new to student room and how do I write equations in a form like other people do?

You need to use tex. There is a link but essentially, you surround an equation by [] brackets containing tex to open and /tex to close.

Your opener is (in latex) \frac{\secA(\sin2A-1)^2}{[ \cos A (\sec A - \tan 2A)]+(2 \sin 2A + \cos 2A)}=2
Here it with the tex tags on

secA(sin2A1)2[cosA(secAtan2A)]+(2sin2A+cos2A)=2 \frac{ \sec A (\sin2A-1)^2}{[ \cos A (\sec A - \tan 2A)]+(2 \sin 2A + \cos 2A)}=2
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Chairm
secA(sin2A-1)2 / [cosA(sec2A - tan2A)] + (2sin2A + cos2A) = 2

secA(sin2A-1)2 = cos3A

Where did you get this from? It's completely wrong.

secA(sin2A1)2=secA(sin22A2sin2A+1)\sec A(\sin 2A - 1)^2 = \sec A(\sin^2 2A - 2\sin 2A + 1)

Do you know how to expand brackets of the form (a+b)2(a+b)^2?

You haven't replied to the other thread that I answered your question on, why not? You can use LaTeX\LaTeX if you want to typeset equations, but you really need not.
Reply 3
Original post by Zacken
Where did you get this from? It's completely wrong.

secA(sin2A1)2=secA(sin22A2sin2A+1)\sec A(\sin 2A - 1)^2 = \sec A(\sin^2 2A - 2\sin 2A + 1)

Do you know how to expand brackets of the form (a+b)2(a+b)^2?

You haven't replied to the other thread that I answered your question on, why not? You can use LaTeX\LaTeX if you want to typeset equations, but you really need not.

oh sorry. I forgotten to put powers.